Findings and Things

August 27, 2009

Hey guys!

So last night, we took the bus on a ride up the coast to go to dinner and a movie and we spotted another bus parked by the ocean and so we stopped and got to chat for a while with an owner of a ’71 that looked much like ours. It was fun to compare restoration, history and stories with them. I love that this vehicle is going to allow for us to meet some pretty cool people along our travels with it. πŸ™‚

Today, Brian found some fun old advertisements and a brochure for our particular Westy. I thought I would share here. Also this evening he will attempt his first oil change in the bus and we will see how that goes. It needs a good change for sure and we will be taking it on yet another road trip this weekend. We are bound for the Jersey shore to say goodbye to Brian’s mom before she heads back to AZ. It will be an interesting trip. I am crossing my fingers that we make it ok with no troubles but that is the thing with the bus… it is always an adventure, you never know what will happen. πŸ™‚

We had the kids last weekend and went camping in it and we stopped at a store real quick, came back out and the thing wouldn’t start up… but we didn’t think it was the battery. Thankfully someone walked by and asked about what year it was and we asked him to help give us a jump start and thankfully it worked… and continued to ever since…. so we will see πŸ™‚ I will let you know how the road trip goes. ’till next time… Peace and Luv

Click on the images for larger viewing!

2 Responses to “Findings and Things”

  1. Slade said

    Well, I really enjoy your bus enthusiasm….but let me tell you a little story. In 1997 my 71 bus blew a rear main seal. I also had a family that was young, building a house, this an d that. But I was going to get the bus running again…somed ay when I had the money. Here it is 15 years later. My last child is a senior in high school. Several near calls on selling the bus these last few years, but just couldn’t do it. Last winter I told my wife that it was this year or definitely gone. Glad to say that I am motivated and currently pulling the engine.
    I love my bus and hope that your bus doesn’t suffer the years like mine. Sadly they are very unreliable vehicles compared to todays cars. It is hard to have that unreliability in todays busy lifestyle…which really tells us about life as we know it. Luckily, being older, I will buy a car hauler trailer and have my wife come and pick me up if I break down!!
    Good luck with your bus. I liked your blog, and maybe thinking that I will blog my buses revival???

    • alinajean13 said

      Thank you so much for your comment. It couldn’t have come at a more perfect time. A true sign we thought. Just earlier yesterday we were speaking about and thinking of the real possibility of selling our bus. And you have given us renewed hope for hanging on!! πŸ™‚ I guess we all just desperately want to hang on to our dreams and that is a good thing. Good luck with your bus revival and I would love to have a link to your blog if you do decide to start one! Peace to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

